My Toddler has Cavities!

Imagine my horror that my not-quite-two year old has cavities!

We brush her 3-5 times a day, no candy or sugar or fruit juices.

I went to two dentists this month and was given a different number at each. The first said there were 9, maybe more, and recommended sedation, a papoose board, I can’t be in the room and they’ll drill and fill.

The second was a Holistic Dentist, he gave me some tooth care tips:

1) Brush BEFORE eating

2) Rinse out with water after eating anything

3) Floss

He said we could afford to wait 6 months to see if we could arrest the decay, and no drugging or drilling was necessary at this time. (Whew!)

We already eat a plant based, whole food diet with no packaged, processed foodstuffs. But I’m going to try harder to get her to eat highly mineralizing foods (like dark leafy greens).

After watching a video on YouTube about Perfect Prescriptions Tooth Soap, I decided to give it a try. I just ordered a grape flavored liquid soap for my daughter and husband, the original shreds for me, and a “tooth swish” (mouthwash).

Since I currently craft my own toothpaste (baking soda, dead sea salt and thieves oil) and mouthwash (water with peppermint and tea tree oil) and can’t get my family to use it much, I’m hoping I’ll have better luck with the Perfect Prescriptions brand.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

